top of page



Pakistan Endocrine & Thyroid Surgeons Association (PETSA) is the representative body of Pakistani Surgeons who have a specialist interest in surgery of the endocrine glands (thyroid, parathyroid and adrenal).

Our Mission

Mission is to propagate the science and art of endocrine surgery as per foot steps of Prof. Syed Zafar Haider in line with recent advancement in this discipline.  

Syed Zafar Haider.jpg

Message from the President

Prof Zafar Haider was the one who made thyroid and endocrine surgery safe in Pakistan and we carry the light now with aim to improve the endocrine surgery in light of modernization in the field of the surgery.

Prof. Khwaja M Azim FRCS

Professor Syed Zafar Haider

1927 - 2017

Professor Syed Zafar Haider is considered as pioneers of endocrine and thyroid surgery in Pakistan. Professor Syed Zafar Haider was born in Pakpattan in 1927. He received his early education in Pakpattan. He joined Forman Christian College Lahore from where he did F.Sc. He graduated from King Edward Medical College Lahore in 1950 & moved to United Kingdom in 1952 for his post-graduation. There he worked with legendary surgeons like Henry Hamilton Stewart, the urologist who was pioneer of partial nephrectomy & Sir Thomas Holmes Sellors, President Royal College of Surgeons of England who was pioneer of pulmonary volvulotomy. 


He returned to Pakistan in 1957 & was posted as an Assistant Professor at Nishtar Medical College Multan. There he pioneered & established head & neck & oesophageal surgery & did the first partial nephrectomy at Nishtar. He was transferred to King Edward Medical College in 1980. At Mayo hospital he did the first parathyroidectomy in Punjab & made East Surgical ward the center for thyroid surgery doing more than two thousand thyroidectomies. He retired in 1988 as Professor of Surgery, King Edward Medical College & joined Shalamar Hospital Lahore as honorary surgeon where he served till 2001. He passed away on 3rd August 2017 after a prolonged battle of nine years against cancer of prostate. His demise brings an end to an illustrious era in surgery. He trained a large number of surgeons who are occupying coveted positions in medical institutions in Pakistan and serving overseas. Now the beacon of his training shines in form of Prof. Khwaja M Azim at Shalamar Medical and Dental College, Lahore. 

General secretary



is working as Professor of Surgery, Shalamar Medical and Dental College, Lahore. 

President Lahore Chapter



is currently working as a Professor of Surgery at King Edward Medical University, Lahore. 


Prof Khwaja AZIM FRCS


He is currently working as Professor and Head of Department of Surgery at Shalamar Medical and Dental College, Lahore. 

Office Bearers
Ameer Afzal.jpg

Sr Vice President

Ashfaq Ahmad


He is currently working as Professor of Surgery at Akhtar Saeed Medical and Dental College, Lahore. 

Vice President

Naveed Aslam


He is currently working as Professor and Head of Department of ENT at Sheikh Zayed Medical  College, Lahore. 


Finance Secretary

Dr Hasham Ashraf


is working as an Assistant Professor of Surgery, Shalamar Medical and Dental College, Lahore. 

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-29 at 10.39.48 AM
  • Patron

    • Prof Syed Zafar Haider

  • President

    • Prof Khwaja M Azim

  • Senior Vice President

    • Prof Ashfaq Ahmad

  • Vice President

    • Prof Naveed Aslam

  • President  (Lahore Chapter)

    • Prof Ameer Afzal

  • General Secretary

    • Dr Talat Waseem

  • Finance Secretary

    • Dr Hasham Ashraf

  • Communications Secretary

    • Dr Tooba Mehmood Gohar

    • Dr Taimoor Ali

  • Secretary Research & Development

    • Dr Talat Waseem

    • Dr Tooba Mehmood Gohar

    • Dr Taimoor Ali

  • Executive Committee

    • Prof Asif Baig Mirza

    • Dr Abul Hasan Kazmi FRCSEd (UK)

    • Prof Majeed Chaudhary

    • Prof Mehmood Ayyaz

    • Prof Zafar Chaudhary

    • Prof Moeed Iqbal Qureshi

    • Prof Naveed Aslam

    • Prof Ashfaq Ahmad

    • Prof Ameer Afzal

    • General Ahmad Khan

    • Prof Farooq Afzal

    • Prof Farooq Ahmad

    • Prof Tauseef Asghar

    • Dr Talat Waseem

    • Dr Hasham Ashraf

    • Dr Tooba Mehmood Gohar

    • Dr Hafiz Muhammad Asif


  • Advisory Committee

    • Prof Faisal Masood

    • Prof Javaid Akram

    • Dr Aamir Ali Syed

    • Prof Bilal Bin Younus

    • Dr Awais Masood

  • Scientific Committee

    • Dr Talat Waseem

    • Dr Awais Masood

    • Prof Naveed Aslam

bottom of page